Update: Minor bugfixes

The tikz-3dplot package at CTAN has recently been updated with a few minor bugfixes and some code cleanup. A user had recently pointed out that the \tdplotsphericalsurfaceplot command would generate an error if the plotted function had a diverging value in it, even if this point was outside the range specified by \tdplotsetpolarplotrange. This has now been corrected.

~ by Jeff Hein on 2010/04/14.

6 Responses to “Update: Minor bugfixes”

  1. Hello Jeff,

    I’ve been meaning to ask you a question and since I’ve not found another way to do this (e.g. your email adress), I’ll do it here.

    In the 3dplot package I mainly use the tdplotdrawarc command for use in simple 3d vector diagrams (multiplying vectors etc).
    Yet I haven’t found a way to add arrow heads [->] without there being an artefact arrowhead in the middle of the arc path pointing upwards. This is probably a leftover from using different paths to draw the arc internally, but I was hoping you know a way to fix this or avoid this?

    send me an email at romeovs@gmail.com

    greets,
    romeo

  2. Hi Romeo,

    Thanks for pointing out this bug. I have corrected the issue, and have pushed an updated version onto CTAN. It should be available within the next day or so.

    If people can’t wait for the change, here’s the details: on line 433 of tikz-3dplot.sty, change

    \draw[#1] #2 + (\tdplottemp:#3) node[#6]{#7};
    

    to

    \path[#1] #2 + (\tdplottemp:#3) node[#6]{#7};
    
  3. Hey Jeff,
    first of all thank you very much for this great package. It helps me a lot for my current work. Anyway I have a problem.

    In case I have a shifted coordinate system, how can I use \tdplotsetcoord with respect to the shifted coordinate system instead of the global coordinate system?

    I am simply searching for something like:
    \tdplotsetcoord[tdplot_rotated_coords]{eDOAr}{\rr}{\thetar{\phir};
    but could find anything, which helps me in that.

    Tanks in advance and again thank you for writing this peace of software. It is great!

    • Hi Flo,

      Glad to know you are finding this package useful!

      Regarding your question, are you trying to define a new rotated coordinate system in terms of the current rotated coordinate system? I made a special case of this, where you can define what I called the “theta plane” of the rotated coordinate system. The rotated coordinate system will be rotated around its z axis by the amount theta. Take a look at Section 3.3.6 on page 14 to page 15 of my documentation.

      For a general rotation, I had never designed the package to be able to do that, and unfortunately you would have to do the math by hand at this point.

      I’m a bit rusty with my rotation matrices right now, but I believe if you want to define a new coordinate rotated system (Rot’) in terms of the old rotated one (Rot), you start with the rotation matrix that takes the system from the main coordinate system (Main) to the old rotated one (Rot), then introduce the one that takes you from (Rot) to (Rot’). This will give you a rotation matrix that takes you from (Main) to (Rot’), and you can enter the Euler angles into /tdplotsetrotatedcoords.

      So something like:

      R( Main -> Rot’ )( alpha’, beta’, gamma’ ) = R (Main -> Rot ) ( alpha, beta, gamma ) * R( Rot -> Rot’ )( a, b, c )

      where (alpha’, beta’, gamma’) are what you’re after, and what you plug into the \tdplotsetrotatedcoords command, (alpha, beta, gamma) takes you from (Main) to (Rot), and (a, b, c) takes you from (Rot) to (Rot’).

      It sounds like it would be useful to have this ability built right into this package, so when I get some time I’ll see if I can integrate it and make a command that does this nasty work for you.

  4. I’m now not sure the place you’re getting your info,
    but good topic. I must spend some time finding out more or
    understanding more. Thank you for excellent info I
    was looking for this information for my mission.

Leave a Reply

 
